Groups | Blog | Home
all groups > iis smtp nntp > august 2004 >

iis smtp nntp : Certain servers rejecting my servers' connection?


Terry Olsen
8/2/2004 7:14:29 AM
Using WinSvr2003, I can't sent emails to anyone at aol.com, bigpond.net.au,
netscape.net, address.com, among others. This is the message I receive:

Reporting-MTA: dns;[myserver]
Received-From-MTA: dns;winxp
Arrival-Date: Fri, 30 Jul 2004 20:02:33 -0600

Final-Recipient: rfc822;[email@address]
Action: failed
Status: 4.4.7

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Unable to deliver message to the following recipients, due to being unable
to connect successfully to the destination mail server.

However, I have no trouble sending emails to these addresses using hotmail,
yahoo, or any email service other than my own.

Could my server be getting the incorrect MX entry for these domains? I have
no trouble sending emails to most everyone else.

Kristofer Gafvert
8/2/2004 6:12:27 PM
Is your server configured to be a "real" email server? Or is it a home
machine, running on a dynamic IP or something like that? A lot of email
servers will deny connections from machines considered to possible be used
to send spam, and if your machine is not a "real" email server, this is
probably your problem.

Have you looked in the Event Log and/or SMTP log?


--
Regards,
Kristofer Gafvert - IIS MVP
http://www.ilopia.com - When you need help!


[quoted text, click to view]

Terry Olsen
8/2/2004 7:42:05 PM
What do you mean by "real"? Like a "commercial" email server? It's set up
on a server at home (actual server, not a standard pc). Yes, I have a
dynamic IP, but so far it has never changed and I have a domain name set up
with a dynamic dns provider. So all the email goes out as
user@mydomain.com. I have no problem receiving email. I have relaying
blocked so it can't be used for spamming. I have looked in the SMTP log and
see a few exchanges...here's one of today's logs...

#Software: Microsoft Internet Information Services 6.0
#Version: 1.0
#Date: 2004-08-02 09:15:54
#Fields: time c-ip cs-method cs-uri-stem sc-status
09:15:54 64.12.138.120 - - 0
09:15:54 64.12.138.120 - - 0
12:26:14 192.168.0.5 EHLO - 250
12:26:14 192.168.0.5 MAIL - 250
12:26:14 192.168.0.5 RCPT - 250
12:26:14 192.168.0.5 DATA - 250
12:26:17 192.168.0.5 QUIT - 240
12:27:10 144.135.25.13 - - 0
12:28:11 144.135.24.13 - - 0
12:29:10 144.135.25.13 - - 0
12:30:11 144.135.25.13 - - 0
12:46:10 144.135.25.13 - - 0
13:16:41 144.135.25.13 - - 0
13:17:10 205.188.156.185 - - 0
13:17:10 205.188.156.185 - - 0
14:17:42 144.135.25.13 - - 0
17:20:48 64.12.138.152 - - 0
17:20:48 64.12.138.152 - - 0
18:18:21 144.135.24.13 - - 0
21:21:47 64.12.138.120 - - 0
21:21:47 64.12.138.120 - - 0
22:19:00 144.135.25.13 - - 0
23:35:15 66.135.197.17 EHLO - 250
23:35:15 66.135.197.17 MAIL - 250
23:35:15 66.135.197.17 RCPT - 250
23:35:16 66.135.197.17 DATA - 250
23:35:16 66.135.197.17 QUIT - 240
01:17:43 66.135.197.18 EHLO - 250
01:17:43 66.135.197.18 MAIL - 250
01:17:43 66.135.197.18 RCPT - 250
01:17:45 66.135.197.18 DATA - 250
01:17:45 66.135.197.18 QUIT - 240
01:23:04 205.188.157.25 - - 0
01:23:04 205.188.157.25 - - 0

It should be noted that the log filesize is 64k. There's a LOT of blank
lines under the last entry. I've tried to ping & telnet some of the IP
addresses and get no return or connect.

[quoted text, click to view]

Kristofer Gafvert
8/3/2004 7:09:29 AM
Yes, a commercial email server.

It does not matter if your server is actually used for relaying spam, or
not. If your IP range is classified as being used to send spam, big email
providers like aol.com will reject your connection.

I think that this is your problem. Nothing indicates a mis-configuration of
your server.

--
Regards,
Kristofer Gafvert - IIS MVP
http://www.ilopia.com - When you need help!


[quoted text, click to view]

Toby Herring
8/3/2004 2:33:25 PM
Go to http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/lookup and test your IP address.
All will most likely become clear at that point.

Many mail servers, in the ongoing effort to block SPAM, will reject
connections from any mail server that gets a positive result on ANY of these
tests, including the dynamic IP test.

--
Toby Herring
MCDBA, MCSD, MCP+SB


[quoted text, click to view]

Terry Olsen
8/3/2004 8:12:16 PM
Ok, I just entered my IP address in and everything came up "No entry found"
and "No detail". Oh well...

[quoted text, click to view]

Bob [BVP]
8/4/2004 12:50:20 PM
Go to http://openrbl.org/ and test it there. If you come in the
those lists, chances are this is your problem. I routinely block dynamic
ip mail servers from delivery to our domain. My bet is your
dynamic ip range, or your isp is not every responsive to spammer
using thier network.

[quoted text, click to view]

Jeff Henkels
8/4/2004 3:21:03 PM
Also check the Spam database lookup option at http://www.dnsstuff.com -- it
checks against a number of spam databases.

[quoted text, click to view]

Terry Olsen
8/5/2004 12:04:21 AM
Ok, now i'm listed on Sorbs... here's what it says...

Dynamic/Generic IP/rDNS address, use your ISPs mail server or get rDNS set
to indicate static assignment.

What is "rDNS"?


[quoted text, click to view]

Jeff Henkels
8/5/2004 8:20:44 AM
rDNS is reverse DNS. Normal DNS maps a domain name to an IP address;
reverse DNS maps an IP address to a domain name. Your ISP and/or DNS
provider will have to fix the rDNS mapping; you can't do it yourself.

[quoted text, click to view]

someone
8/20/2004 9:15:16 AM
"Kristofer Gafvert" <kgafvert@NEWSilopia.com> wrote in
news:#Qj#vfReEHA.3212@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl:

[quoted text, click to view]


could be also because your IP is not associated to an MX record
AOL does such test
1) your IP should be associated to an A record
AddThis Social Bookmark Button