[quoted text, click to view] On Mon, 19 Feb 2007 15:30:26 -0500, PeterD wrote:
> Make your reverse domain name equal to your domain name. They shoudl
> not be different--email systems check and if they don't match, they
> suspect the message is spam or worse.
According to which RFC? I just sent email into the 'msn.com' domain. Here is
the log entry:
| T 20070218 171217 45d8f820 Begin processing job MO000002 from %User_ID%@hupkid.us
| T 20070218 171359 45d8f820 Established ESMTP connection to 65.54.245.8
| T 20070218 173755 45d8f820 Connection closed normally.
| T 20070218 173755 45d8f820 Job MO000002 processing complete.
From a dynamic, residential account with rDNS in the 'pacbell.net' domain.
Here, I will send test email to two MSN Hotmail accounts I have:
| T 20070219 152844 45d8f822 Begin processing job MO000033 from %User_ID%@aosake.net
| T 20070219 153211 45d8f822 Established ESMTP connection to 65.54.244.136
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 MAIL FROM:<%User_ID%@aosake.net> SIZE=2211
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 250 %User_ID%@aosake.net....Sender OK
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 RCPT TO:<%User_ID#1%@hotmail.com>
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 250 %User_ID#1%@hotmail.com
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 RCPT TO:<%User_ID#2%@hotmail.com>
| T 20070219 153212 45d8f822 250 %User_ID#2%@hotmail.com
| T 20070219 153213 45d8f822 Connection closed normally.
| T 20070219 153213 45d8f822 Job MO000033 processing complete.
Here are the relevant lines for the accounts:
| X-Message-Info: txF49lGdW40+6b0VwzdVSOCnrB0/GlRdl1AQj15hsOs=
| Received: from aosake.net ([69.105.177.127]) by bay0-mc4-f7.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.2444);
| Mon, 19 Feb 2007 15:32:26 -0800
| Received: from Spooler by aosake.net (Mercury/32 v4.01b) ID MO000033;
| 19 Feb 2007 15:32:12 -0800
| Received: from spooler by aosake.net (Mercury/32 v4.01b); 19 Feb 2007 15:28:33 -0800
| From: "Proper Name" <%User_ID%@aosake.net>
The same MSN server handled the message; same destination domain:
'hotmail.com'.
Now, an rDNS check on that sending IP address is interesting:
| 02/19/07 15:40:13 dns 69.105.177.127
| nslookup 69.105.177.127
| Canonical name: adsl-69-105-177-127.dsl.pltn13.pacbell.net
| Addresses:
| 69.105.177.127
So you tell me: If MSN is checking for a matchup between the sending domain
("EHLO aosake.net"), and the rDNS name of the connecting IP address
("adsl-69-105-177-127.dsl.pltn13.pacbell.net"), why did they accept these
email messages?
There is something else up. I do believe that MSN servers don't like
canonical aliases. The sending domain should either have an 'MX' record, or
an 'A' record. But that looks okay for the OP. It is hard for me to tell for
certain because everything he has is so convoluted.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come